Latest Flash

Brit Grit Alley

Brit Grit Alley features interviews, news and updates on what's happening down British crime fiction's booze and blood soaked alleyways.

By Paul D. Brazill 

Some recent BRIT GRIT publications.

Skull Meat by Tom Leins

Hired by mobster Marie Andretti to ransack the office of morbidly obese local nightclub owner 'Swollen' Roland Smart, Paignton private investigator Joe Rey quickly finds himself plunged into a dangerous cat and mouse game - which leaves him fighting for his life. His quest for answers - and vengeance - sees him plunge headfirst into the queasy underbelly of the grubby little seaside town he calls home. Rey is a man with a dark past, and, it seems, very little future. Welcome to Paignton Noir.

Marked For Death by Matt Hilton

Joe Hunter has been Marked for Death in his most explosive outing to date

It should be a routine job. Joe Hunter and his associates are hired to provide security for an elite event in Miami. Wear a tux, stay professional, job done.

But things go wrong.

Hunter is drawn into what appears to be a domestic altercation. When he crosses the mysterious Mikhail however, he soon finds something altogether more sinister…

Before long this chance encounter has serious repercussions for Hunter and his friends. Good people are being killed. On the run, in the line of fire, the clock is ticking.

From the bars of Miami beach to car chases and superyacht grenade battles, bestseller Matt Hilton dials up the intensity in this rip-roaring, set-piece filled thriller perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Stephen Leather.

Slaughterville by Rod Glenn

There's a newcomer to the small Northumberland village of Haydon...a charming novelist and movie buff, researching a crime thriller about a serial killer on a rampage in a remote Northumberland community. The only trouble is, it's a work in progress and it's going to be non-fiction.

392 men, women and children stand in his way to achieving a sadistic dream. But there is something a little odd with this quaint secluded community. Something doesn’t seem quite right and the would-be serial killer begins to wonder whether he has bitten off more than he can chew.

As the worst winter in more than a century approaches, can two investigating detectives trapped with the residents stay alive long enough to figure out just what the hell is going on?

A chilling and surreal re-imagining of Rod Glenn’s best-seller, Sinema: The Northumberland Massacre.

Crystal on Electric Acetate: Stories by Richard Godwin

Crystal on Electric Acetate is the first and ultimate original collection of short stories by crime and mystery novelist Richard Godwin. Comprising a fascinating and versatile range of stories previously published in great and ground-breaking cutting-edge paper and online magazines, this collection sums up his take on noir. From urban decay to Gothic explosion, at once revolutionary, iconoclastic, erotic and dark as that cellar next door.

“If you think this is one genre, think again. If you think you can work out what hybrid genre this is, think again. Mutation exists at all levels. Welcome to the mix of stories.” —Richard Godwin.

“Godwin is truly one of our great authors.” —Luca Veste, author of Dead Gone.

Tales From The Underbelly by Aidan Thorne

Tales from the Underbelly is a series of linked stories, centred around a few characters and those that get caught up in the criminal word in which they operate, some through choice, some through circumstance and some that aren't even aware of their brushes with these kingpins of the underworld.

Tony Ricco and Jimmy O'Keefe are rival gang leaders running the streets of a gritty UK city. The incidents in this book take the reader on journey's through Chinese takeaways, gyms, city streets and roads, run down council estates and fancy suburban houses - the places you and I visit daily - but hopefully never encounter the underbelly that's never far away.

This linked collection includes six short stories, a novelette and a novella. Throughout these stories we learn more about the world in which Ricco and O'Keefe operate, and the reach of their influence over the minor crooks, the police and even the general public - just how close are you and I to rubbing shoulders with someone linked to the urban underbelly.

There'll be more carryings on down Brit Grit Alley very soon, sorta kinda thing, like.

Paul D. Brazill's books include A Case Of Noir, The Last Laugh, Guns Of Brixton, Too Many Crooks, and Kill Me Quick! He was born in England and lives in Poland. He is an International Thriller Writers Inc member whose writing has been translated into Italian, German and Slovene. He has had writing published in various magazines and anthologies, including The Mammoth Books of Best British Crime. His blog is here.